Location:..., Other (England)
Genres:Rock / Alternative
Record Label:Sony
422 Fans
Buy the Music
Latest News
News'He Said He Was Innocent'
The Guardian profiles No Devotion and the struggle to move on from Lostprophets' infamy. "A day...
NewsNo Devotion Touring UK
No Devotion, the new band featuring Geoff Rickly and former Lostprophets members, will be touring...
NewsFormer Lostprophets Members Give First...
In this week's edition of The Sunday Times, ex-Lostprophets guitarists Lee Gaze and Mike Lewis have...
NewsGeoff Rickley Audio Interview -- Addresses...
Check the replies for a good audio interview with Geoff Rickley, of Thursday fame, where he...
NewsIan Watkins Seeks Leave to Appeal Length of...
Ian Watkins (Lostprophets) has applied to appeal the length of his prision sentence. Paedophile...
InterviewLostprophets - 06.14.12
Posted by Andy Biddulph on 06/19/12
Album ReviewLostprophets - The Betrayed
Posted by Jared George on 01/15/10
InterviewIlan Rubin (NIN, Lostprophets, The New...
Posted by Steve Henderson on 12/17/08
Multimedia3 Gallery Images
The Billboard

AbsoluteAccess: Lostprophets
(video link beneath band image or scroll down to the comments for embedded player)

Lostprophets frontman Ian Watkins and guitarist Mike Lewis grew up together in the Cardiff satellite town of Pontypridd. They began blending musical genres as members of the band Public Disturbance. Watkins was a drummer at the time, but he moved to vocals when the pair first started experimenting as Lozt Prophetz. Watkins and Lewis flirted with ska and hip-hop at first, then came to an aggressive style of rock that mixed together their longtime love of metal and pop. They also changed the spelling to Lostprophets and added Lee Gaze (guitar), Stuart Richardson (bass), and Mike Chiplin (drums) to the lineup.

After Lostprophets' demo was featured in Kerrang! magazine, U.K. independent label Visible Noise offered them an album deal in 2000. That year's The Fake Sound of Progress was recorded over the course of a week for roughly $4,000. Hitting the road to promote the album, the band played support slots with Linea 77, Taproot, Pitchshifter, Linkin Park, and the Deftones, and a huge show at the 2001 Reading Festival helped the fan base grow. Keyboardist Jamie Oliver joined the band to expand its sound, and Sony signed the band in the U.S., releasing a different version of The Fake Sound of Progress in 2001, one that had been remixed and "retooled" by famed producer Michael Barbiero. A North American tour followed.

The album's successor, 2004's Start Something, proved that all the gigging had paid off. It debuted at number five on the U.K. charts and reached number 33 on the Billboard Top 200 despite having been leaked early on the Internet. More touring followed, including a sold-out show at the giant Cardiff International Arena and a main-stage performance at the 2004 Reading Festival. In 2005 the bandmembers were considering different producers for their third effort before deciding on Bob Rock, the man responsible for Metallica's self-titled "Black Album." Drummer Chiplin departed so Rock and the band recruited drummer Josh Freese -- who had worked with A Perfect Circle, Rob Zombie, and many others -- for recording sessions. The completed album, Liberation Transmission, was released at the beginning of summer 2006.

- David Jeffries, Allmusic.com
Similar Artists
Last Updated: 04/01/08

Search News
Release Dates
Best New Music
Submit News
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Twitter | Facebook | RSS