Due to being curious about it, I messaged this "label", and they told me that they are not a record label, never said they were one, and nothing on their website indicated that they are one. They're just a management and marketing company, according to them, so I don't know where you are getting this "label offer" from.. |
This is without a doubt a scam. To address the quote above, take a look at the "About Us" section of their website: It says outright "Label details – coming in fall of 2011! We will offer extensive distribution and marketing services." So apparently they're talking out of both sides of their mouths, and losing track of which lies they're telling to whom.
At the core though, this is one of the oldest scams in the book, often used to target artists. People use it to scam money from actors, musicians, visual artists, anyone trying to "make it" in their chosen industry... You set up a "business" that promises talent that you'll represent them, find them work, sell their paintings, whatever it is they want to hear, and then say "just fill out this paperwork and pay a small fee. You have to spend money to make money!" I nearly got scammed the exact same way when I was pursuing acting as a career- a fake "talent agency" advertised in the paper that they were looking for new talent, and they had a seminar in a hotel conference room where they talked about their services and how they were going to make us all stars, blah blah blah. The only catch was a fee, probably a couple hundred dollars, that they would supposedly use to create headshots, resumes and register the new actor. I walked out near the end, as dozens of young actors (or their parents) started pulling out their checkbooks. I knew they were going to take their money and run- one of them even tried to stop me and convince me to change my mind as I was leaving, which was totally unprofessional.
Anyway, sorry for the COOL STORY BRO moment, but I just wanted to let you know you're not the first person con artists have tried to pull this on, and you won't be the last. That entire website was set up- sloppily- to try and milk money from musicians. The faux news stories about big time musicians who are in no way related to that company were just swiped off other people's music blogs (
http://propertyofzack.com/post/20404...-tour-routing). The generic, cheap graphics were obviously thrown together in a couple minutes.
TL;DR:
Even their cutesy backstory on their "About Us" page should set off warning bells: "'We are here because of the music, we inspire the music. We’re Band Aids.' – Penny Lane... Inspired by Penny Lane from the movie Almost Famous..." = "DUDE, WE'RE GONNA FUCK YOU, AND YOU'RE GONNA END UP CRYING."