AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

Larry Jacobson- World Audience Manager

Interviewed by
Thanks to Larry Jacobsen for taking the time out of his busy schedule to answer tehse questions for me.

--------------------
Frank: You began your career as a lawyer, how did that translate into artist management?
Larry: When I graduated from law school, I went to work at a large corporate law firm, and I hated it. I was also the only guy leaving early to see Metallica. I’d been playing guitar since I was 14 and had been in bands, so I knew music was how I wanted to spend my life. I ended up as the Junior Lawyer at Giant Records. This was an amazing experience because I worked directly for the owner, Irving Azoff, who is considered one of the greatest artist managers in history. After a year, I brought in a soundtrack every other label had passed on; the soundtrack was to the film “Dazed and Confused”. It went on to sell multi-platinum and its follow up went gold. This lead to a position as a duel A&R and Head of Business and Legal Affairs. Eventually I ended up a part owner of Giant Records while I ran the entire company. We signed and broke Disturbed and put out the Steely Dan record “Two Against Nature” which won 4 Grammys including Album of the Year. We sold Giant in 2001 to AOL Time Warner. I then became Senior Vice President of Capitol Records, which was a great experience but more business than creative. So, I left to form my own company where I could work directly with the artists responsible for the music I love.

-----
Frank: As an artist manager, what are your ultimate goals and objectives personally and for your artists?