AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview: Yours Til Death - 12.07.09

Yours Til Death - 12.07.09

Interviewed by
Yours Til Death - 12.07.09The following is a mini interview of generic questions that we posed to all bands that wanted to answer:

Yours Til Death

http://www.YoursTilDeath.com
http://www.myspace.com/YoursTilDeath

1. How did you get your band name?
I was reading Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky and the letter written to Raskolnikov had the closing "Yours Till Death". This may have been a common way to close letters back then, but it really struck me as a brilliant way to express absolute devotion and dedication in just a few words. Given my relentless perfectionism, it seemed a fitting way to name the band.

2. How did this band get started?
For years I've been a hired/touring guitarist, and I'm always writing during any time off. After a few years on the road with Rihanna, I decided it was time to really focus on my own project. As opposed to being a mercenary, for hire. I collected a handful of songs and brought in some friends to record at my home studio in Silverlake. The band started as an outlet for my songs but became much more collaborative when I found Dave Berg and Hayden Scott. Both of which are brilliant all-around musicians, in addition to being badass at their respective instruments. They spend as much time and energy crafting their parts as I do crafting my songs, and with them I'm comfortable stepping back and letting things evolve naturally...

3. What bands are you influenced by?