Album Review
Bad Lieutenant - Never Cry Another Tear Album Cover

Bad Lieutenant - Never Cry Another Tear

Reviewed by
Bad Lieutenant - Never Cry Another Tear
Record Label: Triple Echo/Original Signal
Release Date: November 10, 2009
Bad Lieutenant are a British Pop/Rock trio who released their debut album, Never Cry Another Tear in 2009. Although this is their debut album, the Bad Lieutenant members are not new to the world of music. Bernard Sumner, who plays guitar and sings, is originally from the British pop band, New Order. While there is definitely some influence from New Order, Bad Lieutenant hold their own with Never Cry Another Tear. The electronic vibe from New Order can be heard throughout the album, but added dreamy guitars and keyboards help this album to become one of a kind. The band formed in 2007 with Phil Cunningham on guitar and Jake Evans on guitar and vocals alongside Sumner. Evans and Sumner take turns with lead vocals on a few songs and also sing together on a few. They have new tour dates starting in March and are sure to impress everywhere they play.

I had never heard of this band until about a week ago, and what a pleasant surprise it has been. With the first listen, I thought this was just another adult contemporary sounding, poppy UK band; just another album to brush aside. But with more listens, I've grown to really like this album. It brings soothing sounds to my ears. Never Cry Another Tear is raw, energetic, and sincere. Catchy guitar riffs, upbeat tempos, and electronic sounds make up Never Cry Another Tear. Packed with fourteen songs, Bad Lieutenant does not fail to bring a fun, enjoyable, record that makes you want to dance and relax at the same time. This album gives us a fresh view of the UK music scene and I'm loving every minute of it. Not only are there pop hits that will make you want to jump around and dance, but their are some great acoustic ballads as well, showcasing the talents of this dual vocal team.

Never Cry Another Tear starts out with the first single off the album, "Sink or Swim." Hand claps, simple guitar, and fine singing help this song start the album off right. The perfect choice for a single. The song showcases Bad Lieutenant's broad rang and talent. The third track on the album is "Summer Days," and is my favorite song off the album. Excellent, but reserved guitar work is heard throughout the song. Don't let the title fool you, "Summer Days" has a dark and emotional feel to it. Their is also some blues influence heard in the song. In the middle of the album, we have the song "Poisonous Intent." It's a little odd. All I can think of is the song, "All Star" by Smash Mouth. Sumner and Evans seem to be talking to each other in the verses and it comes off really cheesy. The last part of the album is filled with softer songs. Of the softer songs, "These Changes" and "Head Into Tomorrow" really stand out. The album picks back up with "Falling Tree." The chorus is very fun and easy to sing along too. The last song, "Split the Atom," closes the album with a powerful, light, and emotional vibe. There is a random piano and synth solo in the middle of the song which really threw me off. But besides that, the song really ends the album off great. An emotional guitar solo brings the album to a satisfying close.

Bright, positive, and perfect for the summer, this album brings a light to the world of music. It isn't your radio top 40 hits album, it's more than that. It is a collaborative effort and beautiful addition to the ever growing world of music. For the few songs that are mediocre and a little off, the strong songs really make up for them. I recommend you take a listen and just enjoy it. It's a solid album that is fun and easy to listen to. This album is something you can listen to with your mom. Play it while your chilling by the pool, driving on a road trip, or just sitting down, eating some cereal.

Additional Information
Track listing:
1. Sink or Swim
2. Twist of Fate
3. Summer Days
4. This is Home
5. Running Out of Luck
6. Dynamo
7. Poisonous Intent
8. These Changes
9. Walk on Silver Water
10. Shine Like the Sun
11. Runaway
12. Head Into Tomorrow
13. Falling Trees
14. Split the Atom
Produced by: Bernard Sumner and Bad Lieutenant

Bad Lieutenant is:
Bernard Sumner - vocals/guitar
Phil Cunningham - guitars
Jake Evans - vocals/guitars

Recommended If You LikeNew Order; Joy Division; Alternative Rock; Adult Contemporary

LinksBad Lieutenant's Website Myspace Facebook and Twitter
This review is a user submitted review from lovelesscrux. You can see all of lovelesscrux's submitted reviews here.
Displaying posts 1 - 2 of 2
09:50 PM on 03/13/10
(wanted with the southside)
User Info.
lovelesscrux's Avatar
You can download the song, "Dynamo" on their website for free. http://badlieutenant.net/

Search News
Release Dates
Best New Music
Submit News
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
Encore Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
Encore Podcast on iTunes
Encore on Overcast
AP.net on Tumblr
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate