AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview: Subb - 10.17.06

Subb - 10.17.06

Interviewed by
Subb - 10.17.06First off, I just want to extend a token of gratitude for taking the time to sit down and answer some questions for us. Now, please state your name and position in Subb.

My pleasure. My name is Mart, and in addition to being a founding member, I am a songwriter and guitarist for Subb.

If you don't object, could you please give our unfamiliar readers a quick history lesson on Subb?

Sure. Subb started back in 1992, but all we kept from the 1992-1994 era is the band name and two members members, Steph and myself. In 1995, Jeff and Nick entered the lineup, and then, in 1996, Matt joined the band. In September 1997, JF replaced Nick. Since then, we have released six CD's (four albums, one split release, and one EP), as well as released three of our four albums in Japan and Europe. We've done 400 shows, which consisted of playing in Canada, Europe, and the United States.

How would you describe the band's sound to an inexperienced listener?

Ok, overall, it's fast punk-rock mixed with ska, reggae and hints of hardcore.

I apologize for reiterating a question you've likely answered more than your fair share of times, but once and for all, can you please explain the meaning behind the name Subb?

When we started back in 1992, Steph came up with a name for our band, which was Society Under Babbling Boobs. However, we thought it was too long, so we called ourselves S.U.B.B. But, when the band split in 1994, we were looking for a band name again, and Steph suggested that we keep the name Subb, but drop the periods.

On April 18th, 2006, you released your latest, full-length recording entitled The Motions. How has the overall response been to the album, thus far?

The fans seems to appreciate it, and the reviews are good.

How do you feel the songs presented on The Motions compare to your earlier work?