AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview: City (Comma) State - 08.27.10

City (Comma) State - 08.27.10

Interviewed by
City (Comma) State - 08.27.10First off, give us the story of how the band came to be.

Joanna: Well, actually, Justin and I have known each other for ten years and he was interning at Interscope when I first got signed there 10 years ago and we have always been really close friends. Justin wasn't working with Interscope anymore and I wasn't signed to Interscope anymore; I was just working on my solo stuff. We got into a conversation about direction and I was telling him I didn't really like my own music. I didn't listen to my music. I would never listen to it in the car while driving or anything. So we started talking about the music that I listen to and what I'm inspired by and the stuff that I really like and it was so completely different from the music I had been making for the past 10 years. So after that we were just in the studio when we first kind of started with one of Justin's friends that he went to Berklee with. His name's Frogs. He's the other guy in the band. He started to track to some kind of out there, shoegazy stuff and Justin was like, "Let's try to write some melodies and lyrics to it and see what happens." It was just an experiment, and then slowly but surely it became a real thing. Mark Hoppus heard some music very early on through Justin and really dug it, and the whole thing just grew from there.

Justin: Six months later we had twelve songs.

For the people who are unfamiliar with you guys, can you give us a background story of where you came from and who everybody is in the band and what they do? Sort of a catch me up, if you will.

Justin: Do you want to say your own, kiddo?