AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview
Hint: Have a band you'd like to see interviewed? Tell us.

Eric & Magill - 02.06.11

Interviewed by: Lueda Alia (02/11/11)
First and foremost, since you guys have been making music for a long time, could you both introduce yourselves and let our readers know what bands you have been involved with over the time span of your career?

Ryan: Iím one of the 4 guys that were Camden. I also played with the Promise Ring. I played bass and a little guitar on their last record Wood/Water for Anti. Around the same time I started playing with the Promise Ring I co-founded Decibully who put out a couple records on Polyvinyl and are now on Listening Party. Iíve dabbled in quite a few other projects, but these are most notable. Iíve been a studio engineer, mixer, recording guy too for a number of bands as well.

Eric: I played in Camden with Ryan from 1998-2001. We recorded two records with Chris Walla from Death Cab and toured constantly with the likes of The Promise Ring, The Gloria Record, Hey Mercedes, Death Cab for Cutie and Pele to name some of them.

The second most obvious question would be what Iím sure many people have wondered: who, in all, did you collaborate with for your debut?

Ryan: I know more bands could be attributed to the folks on the record but this is a list that Iíve compiled, Shearwater, The Dirty Projectors, Volcano Choir, Collections of Colonies of Bees, Pele, Owen, Joan of Arc, CapíníJazz, American Football, ViaTania, Headlights, Sufjan Stevens, Maritime, The Promise Ring, Vermont, Dashboard Confessional, The Snake The Cross The Crown, Braid, Hey Mercedes, The Gloria Record, Mineral, Zookeeper, Parts and Labor, Volcano Iím Still Excited, Americans UK, Decibully, The Championship, Juniper Tar, The Celebrated Working Man, Parts and Labor, Fever Marlene, Revision Text, Control, The Tea Cups, Faux Fir, Group of the Altos, Trolley, Jonathan Burkes, and the Idaho Yodeler.