AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

PlayRadioPlay! - 04.20.07

Interviewed by
PlayRadioPlay! - 04.20.07First off, you're the only one in this project. Can you explain how you do it all on your own? (what you use, etc.)

For all of my self-recorded songs, I program in Logic Pro and Reason on a Mac Pro. I then record vocals and guitars in Pro Tools. I also recording some keys in Pro Tools with a Nord Lead 3, Moog Voyager, Moog Prodigy, a Fender Rhodes and some others. Now that I'm in the studio with producers, however, things are going on all over the place.

How did your interest in music done by your laptop come about, aside from forming a full band with other people?

I started programming music freshmen or sophomore year, I can't remember, in a Music Technology class at my High School. In that class I learned to use Fruity Loops and some other simple computer programs that make music. Most of the kids in it take it because it's easy, but I really started to like learning to make music on a computer. I bought Fruity Loops and started using it at home. I had been recording lots of songs by myself on a little Boss 16 track with just acoustic and electric guitars, and occasionally some VERY poorly recorded drums haha. I really was looking for a way to expand my music, and naturally, my new found skills in music programming started finding their way into my demos. I think the first song that had electronic sounds in it was called "Let It Shine." The first OFFICIAL PlayRadioPlay song was called "Jello."

How did being signed to Island/Stolen Transmissions happen?