AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview
Hint: Have a band you'd like to see interviewed? Tell us.
Inside AP.net

Talib Kweli - 05.15.07

Interviewed by: jaimej (05/15/07)
I'd like to thank Talib Kweli for taking the time out of his extremely busy schedule to do this for me, as well as Ayal Kleinman for making it happen. Thanks so much!

Who were your major influences growing up and what made you so interested in getting involved with the Hip Hop community?
My parents were my major influences growing up. Growing up in NYC, it was hard not to be involved in Hip Hop.

When did you realize that you had this natural talent and a voice that people would really relate and respond to?
When I was in elementary school, I would write and produce plays for my friends and family, and people's response to that made me realize that I had something special. I studied theatre at NYU for the purpose of translating those skills to my music.

When did you first recognize that this was something you could do as a career, and what were the next steps you took to achieve that goal?
In Junior High, everybody in my class wanted to be a rapper. I knew that in High School it was something I wanted to do seriously, so I immersed myself in Hip Hop culture; going to clubs, open mics, freestyling in the park. In College, I dropped out to get a job and work on music, and there was no turning back.

Who is your favorite artist that you have collaborated with? Who that you haven't already worked with would you like to most?
Itís too hard of a question to say who is my favorite! I've learned a lot from Mos Def, De La Soul, The Roots, DJ Quik, Hi-Tek, and Kanye West.

Whose albums are you currently spinning? I find that certain albums that I own are timeless; do you have any long time favorites that you know will never get put away?