AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

Go Big - 10.05.11

Interviewed by
Go Big - 10.05.11The following is a mini interview of generic questions that we posed to all bands that wanted to answer:

Go Big

http://www.facebook.com/gobigisonthebook

1. How did you get your band name?
I was hoping to come up with a name that would describe the band before you saw us. With 7 members, many of which play numerous instruments throughout a performance, the name seemed apropos.

2. How did this band get started?
I (Jason Rutcofsky) started learning how to play guitar after my former band, the High School Football Heroes, broke up. As soon as I started playing guitar I started writing songs. As soon as the songs started to sound good I enlisted the help of former High School Football Heroes members Joe Masterson and Travis Herdt to play drums and lead guitar respectively. My brother Michael was asked to join on bass and we had our back-line. Quickly it was decided we wanted to make our sound bigger so we added Jessica Coen (vocals, violin, percussion), Alex Didio (backing vocals, trumpet, trombone, guitar, piano) and Noreen LaNassa (mellophone, trumpet, backing vocals).

3. What bands are you influenced by?

Bruce Springsteen, Queen, Green Day, Sublime, Meatloaf

4. If you could tour with any bands, past or present, who would they be and why?

I would have loved to tour with Springsteen prior to Clarence's death. To watch the Big Man play sax every night would have been incredible.

5. Best food to eat on tour?

Being from NY we're pretty spoiled with great food, however Pat's in Philly is great for cheesesteaks. I love getting Mexican food and In and Out Burger every time I'm in California. If I ever find myself in Bree I make sure to stop at the Prancing Pony. In PA I always try to hit Sheetz gas stations cause they're great, and whenever I come across a Fuddruckers I'm getting a burger.

6. Why should people listen to your band?