AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview
Hint: Have a band you'd like to see interviewed? Tell us.
Inside AP.net

Brown Bird - 01.31.12

Interviewed by: Lueda Alia (01/31/12)
Salt For Salt was recorded live to tape, which isnít that common. How would you describe the experience?

It was great. It was our first album as a duo. That made it a little bit easier to record live and not have to track each thing separately. We worked with a really great studio in Rhode Island. Itís an awesome studio to work with. It went really well. We did it in three sessions.

As you mentioned, Brown Bird is now a duo. Has that changed the dynamics of the band at all?

Itís made everything a lot easier as far as touring and making band decisions. Musically, weíve gotten a bit more upbeat than we had been in the past. I started playing upright bass. That was new for us. It just simplified everything.

What are some of the major differences youíve noticed in the songs now that youíre a duo as opposed to a five piece?

Instrumentally, we donít have a dobro anymore and we donít have an accordion. Thatís basically the only huge difference as far as instrumentation goes. Dave plays percussion with his feet while heís playing guitar and banjo. As far as sound goes, I donít think weíre lacking any of the fullness that we had even though thereís only two of us. The songs themselves on the album are a little more blues and rock inspired. Itís a bit more upbeat than what weíve done in the past. I think thatís just because Dave and I working together is very cohesive. It just works really well. Weíre really on the same page about what weíre going for.

How does the line-up change affect your live show? Are you bringing in any touring members?

Nope, itís just the two of us.

Did any of the older songs have to be re-arranged?

Weíve been mostly doing the newer songs. Some of the older ones we have re-worked a bit. A lot of them were written as a duo though. Theyíre not that much different.