AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

Brown Bird - 01.31.12

Interviewed by
Brown Bird - 01.31.12Salt For Salt was recorded live to tape, which isn’t that common. How would you describe the experience?

It was great. It was our first album as a duo. That made it a little bit easier to record live and not have to track each thing separately. We worked with a really great studio in Rhode Island. It’s an awesome studio to work with. It went really well. We did it in three sessions.

As you mentioned, Brown Bird is now a duo. Has that changed the dynamics of the band at all?

It’s made everything a lot easier as far as touring and making band decisions. Musically, we’ve gotten a bit more upbeat than we had been in the past. I started playing upright bass. That was new for us. It just simplified everything.

What are some of the major differences you’ve noticed in the songs now that you’re a duo as opposed to a five piece?

Instrumentally, we don’t have a dobro anymore and we don’t have an accordion. That’s basically the only huge difference as far as instrumentation goes. Dave plays percussion with his feet while he’s playing guitar and banjo. As far as sound goes, I don’t think we’re lacking any of the fullness that we had even though there’s only two of us. The songs themselves on the album are a little more blues and rock inspired. It’s a bit more upbeat than what we’ve done in the past. I think that’s just because Dave and I working together is very cohesive. It just works really well. We’re really on the same page about what we’re going for.

How does the line-up change affect your live show? Are you bringing in any touring members?

Nope, it’s just the two of us.

Did any of the older songs have to be re-arranged?

We’ve been mostly doing the newer songs. Some of the older ones we have re-worked a bit. A lot of them were written as a duo though. They’re not that much different.

So being a duo isn’t completely new to you?

It isn’t, actually.