Username
Password

04:57 PM on 05/25/12 
User Info.
Jaimehere
Support local music!
Philippines
Male - 23 Years Old
Anyone have/had jobs they took that was not (or not directly related) related to the degree they got in college? And how did it go?
10:57 PM on 05/25/12 
User Info.
.invisible ink.
Get ratchet, go dumb
omnipresent
Female
A lot of people (myself included) fall into this category. I studied education and environmental sustainability in college and ended up working in finance because it paid better than teaching (which would have required a post-graduate degree and even more money invested in school for a job with less pay). I make decent money but it's not emotionally satisfying work as I don't feel like I'm contributing anything positively toward society. It pays the bills though so I really can't complain too much. Ideally it would be nice to find a satisfying job which paid well and positively contributed toward humanity with only an undergraduate degree. I think though in the big picture nowadays, one needs to be realistic and realize that you might not end up in your dream job straight out of college or even after that, but as long as it's stable. pays the bills and doesn't make you want to kill yourself, you're doing alright.
12:37 AM on 05/26/12 
User Info.
Jaimehere
Support local music!
Philippines
Male - 23 Years Old
I'm gonna be graduating with a degree in marketing management in a month or so but I think I'll end up working in customer relations/operations in a hotel somewhere here.

Marketing wasn't my first choice (long story), Hotel and restaurant management was but hopefully the services marketing subject I took up last year will help me here.

Currently an intern in the marketing/sales department that my aunt owns, and damn is it boring... I can't imagine myself working like this for a number of years.
12:40 AM on 06/26/12 
User Info.
CarpetElf
Stay Hungry, Stay Free, Stay Lucky
Tallahassee, Florida
Male - 20 Years Old