Password

Album Review

The Swellers - Running Out of Places to Go Album Cover

The Swellers - Running Out of Places to Go

Reviewed by
The SwellersRunning Out of Places to Go
Record Label: Unsigned
Release Date: October 16, 2012
I think I’m quite late when I say this, but I haven’t listened to Michigan pop-punk band The Swellers until now. I have listened to a little bit of them here and there, but never actually sat down and listened to a full album/EP by them until now. They left Fueled By Ramen last year to just be on their own without a label, and it really shows that they can do it. After releasing a 7” single entitled Vehicle City Blues, they’re back with the new EP Running Out of Places to Go. I’m quite new to this band, but I’m really surprised I never got into them sooner. They combine pop-punk with the Midwestern “emo” quite nicely; in all honesty, they sound like a mix between The Wonder Years and The Forecast. I like that sound quite a bit, and I also like the theme of the EP, too. The running theme throughout the EP is that the band is on their own, and they’re trying to make it on their own without a label. It’s about their determination, and throughout various points on the EP, they make references to it, which is pretty cool.