AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Album Review
Hint: Follow a reviewer to be notified when they post reviews.
Bad Books - II Album Cover
Author's Rating
Vocals 8.5
Musicianship 8
Lyrics 8
Production 8.5
Creativity 8
Lasting Value 8.5
Reviewer Tilt 8.5
Final Verdict: 83%
Member Ratings
No one has rated this album. You can be the first.
Inside AP.net

Bad Books - II

Reviewed by: justbradley (11/05/12)
Bad BooksII
Record Label: Triple Crown Records / Favorite Gentlemen Records
Release Date: October 9th, 2012

In 2010, indie-rock/folk powerhouses Kevin Devine and Andy Hull got together to make some more indie tunes that they’re used to making with their respective bands. Kevin Devine is a very popular solo artist in the genre, and most people know Andy Hull as being the frontman of Manchester Orchestra. In a sense, this is sort of a “supergroup,” but barely. I’m completely new to this band, but not new to these artists, so when I listened to this, I knew what to expect, but at the same time, I didn’t. Ultimately, I was extremely surprised with how much I enjoyed this. It doesn’t sound like a Kevin Devine or Manchester Orchestra cover band, but ultimately, they have their own identity. There’s not much that I haven’t heard before on this album, but coming from Devine, Hull and co., this is quite an interesting album, nonetheless. The album name is merely II and while it’s rather dull, it’s quite forward and to the point.