Username
Password

10:49 PM on 02/07/13 
User Info.
marieeboxx
Cat Lady
West Coast
Female - 23 Years Old
I ran from middle school all the way through college...well half way through college. Quit because I started to fall behind in my classes/grades. Anyway, you don't need some $100 shoe, my shoes were like $80. Also Nike Free's may not be the "best" for everyone. Go to a place that specializes in fitting running shoes, and they'll find one that fits your running/walking style. They have shoes for people with a neutral foot strike, pronators, etc. I personally like Asics or Saucony's. You would want to get a size bigger than your normal shoe size/have a thumbs width of free space at the tip of the shoe. As for running...like what someone else said do as much as you can, or alternate with a run/walk. Unfortunately I'm not experienced in providing a general workout routine for someone who wants to start running =/ It's also good to alternate with running, and cross-training so you can work your other muscles
08:42 AM on 02/08/13 
User Info.
marieeboxx
Cat Lady
West Coast
Female - 23 Years Old
I'm a runner. Advice? I do not agree with the above poster. Don't skimp on running shoes. Seriously. Spend the money. Get a nice 100 to 140 dollar pair. Cheap running shoes won't last as long and if you run consistently, you will feel it in your joints and muscles with cheap shoes. Maybe for your purposes cheap shoes will do, but if you really want to get the most out of your workout, better shoes really do make a world of difference. They are the only accessory that actually affects your running, so it important, especially if you pronate (ask shoe athletic shoe salesmen about this and they can tell you if you pronate or not.)