AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

Lyn Saga - 02.20.13

Interviewed by
Lyn Saga - 02.20.13The following is a mini interview of generic questions that we posed to all bands that wanted to answer:

Lyn Saga

http://www.lynsaga.com
http://www.facebook.com/lynsaga
http://www.twitter.com/lynsaga
http://www.youtube.com/lynsaga

1. How did you get your artist name?

It is my name.

2. How did you get started?

I was interested and involved in music at a young age. I started playing piano when I was 5 and then started playing guitar and taking lessons when I was 10. I also learned to play clarinet/alto saxophone and viola/violin. Throughout grade school, I was involved in every musical group or class possible: jazz band, orchestra, marching band, theater pit band, music technology/production, etc. Along the way, I took a lot of music theory classes where I was required to write songs and sight sing. That's really how I got started writing my own songs and singing. Because I was so involved in music programs when I was growing up, I met a lot of great players and formed a couple of bands that played out in the local New Jersey clubs, bars, and soon we started playing out in New York and Philadelphia. It was a fun time.

3. What bands are you influenced by?

I am influenced by bands like Weezer, The Beach Boys, Foo Fighters, Smashing Pumpkins, Hole, Fountains of Wayne, and more. My friends and I loved listening to those records growing up and played covers of their songs all the time.

4. If you could tour with any bands, past or present, who would they be and why?