AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

Daniel Ahearn - 05.22.08

Interviewed by
Daniel Ahearn - 05.22.08I had the pleasure of chatting with Daniel Ahearn, formerly of Ill Lit last month, after numerous attempts to make this interview happen. I would like to thank him for being so "flexible" and such a great person to talk to. I would also like to thank Tristan, who helped with the editing. Thank you!

Who is Daniel Ahearn and could you describe your music for someone that has yet to hear it?

They are love songs. I write love songs. I would get in trouble when I thought they were "country.” So I leave in the Americana music because I am an American kid from Indiana who is writing down what the people are saying when they don't know I am around.

How did it all start?

It started from writing, and then I did this recording project. I was rabid with a weird desire to make music. It was weird to get on stage, I didn't understand it. My background is listening to country and classical when I was a kid, and then electronic music from teens to twenties. I was trying to put them together and tell American songs.

You seem to be in touch with your spiritual side from what I've read. How true would you say this is?

I try and get in touch with a spiritual side. It is life-long journey. I think. My aunt is a nun. And some dear friends are deep in yoga and I talk to all sorts of healers/seekers. It interests me, to say the least. The world is just out of view, but well within reach…

I always wonder how musicians like yourself pull through for years, because it can’t be easy being a musician when there are so many others out there. It’s inspiring to see people fight for years for something they love.