Album Review
Everybody Out! - Everybody Out Album Cover

Everybody Out! - Everybody Out

Reviewed by
Everybody Out!Everybody Out!
Record Label: Taang! Records
Release Date: 2008
Formed by ex-Dropkick Murphys guitarist Rick Barton, Everybody Out! continue in the footsteps of his former band and deliver an album full of punk rock with hints of ska and celtic folk. Their self-titled debut features Lost City Angels singer Sweeney Todd with the rest of the band being comprised by former members of On Broken Wings.

On the intro, Sweeney belts out vocals with a croon that bring to mind Joe Strummer with lyrics that set the tone for the album: “Will we all just watch/And sit down in the back/ Or will we face our fears/and finally learn how to act.” The lyrics are consistently insightful and strong throughout the whole album.

Unlike other political punk bands like Anti-Flag, they stay away from the blame game and instead suggest getting involved and asking yourself what you can do to help solve the problems of the world: “Can’t put the blame on one imbecile/We must change or face our own peril/We cannot wait/We’re not invincible.” Put these socially aware and emotionally charged lyrics over well crafted punk rock and you get a very enjoyable album with few noticeable faults.

One disappointment was on “Billy Cole,” a folk/celtic ballad that features mandolins, accordions, piano, slide guitar, saxophones, trumpets, and trombones. While the song is arranged beautifully, the story that is being told never really reaches a satisfying conclusion. It captures the listener by telling us about an abandoned boy who lost his parents early and a girl spoiled rotten by her parents and how they both grew up quite differently but both ended up as “lost souls.” The song continues on to talk of other characters but never seems to reach the emotion set forth by the preceding lyrics.

While this album is pretty much what you would expect from a former Dropkick Murphy member, it is also a breath of fresh air. Everybody Out! succeeds by giving listeners a slice of working class punk rock without being overly preachy and leaves you feeling hopeful for the future to come. However, with the recent departure of Sweeney from the group, it will be interesting to see what the Boston based band will cook up for their upcoming 2009 release.

Tracklist1. Intro/Wide Awake
2. Everybody Out
3. Ghettoblaster
4. Jack the Lad
5. All I Got
6. Truth
7. Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah
8. Billy Cole
9. Transistor Jim
10. No Runaway
11. Avenue
12. Evil Place/Revenge of Sweeney Todd

Recommended if You LikeDropkick Murphys, Sex Pistols, One Man Army, The Copyrights, The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Streetdogs, The Lawrence Arms

This review is a user submitted review from mr chainsaw. You can see all of mr chainsaw's submitted reviews here.
Displaying posts 1 - 2 of 2
04:58 PM on 02/01/09
User Info.
CellarGhosts's Avatar
Good review. I saw these guys open for Dropkick last year and they were fun. Sweeny is a cool guy as well; met him after the show.

Search News
Release Dates
Best New Music
Submit News
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
Encore Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
Encore Podcast on iTunes
Encore on Overcast
AP.net on Tumblr
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate