AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview: Camfield Way - 01.07.09

Camfield Way - 01.07.09

Interviewed by
Camfield Way - 01.07.09The following is a mini interview of generic questions that we posed to all bands that wanted to answer. Below you will find answers from bands that replied.

Camfield Way [myspace]

1. How did you get your band name?
We were originally called Whit's End (a play on my last name) but then we all decided it wasn't really fair to have just my name in the band so we got a huge list going of really generic "punk" type names and none of them really stood out for us. Camfield Way was the street that I grew up on and it sounded pretty solid to all of us...and it's got 3 syllables, the greatest bands of all time have 3 syllables.

2. How did this band get started?
My junior year of college at SMU I was a freshman orientation leader and I met this kid named John who said he was a musician so I gave him my demo cd. Over the next 2 years I would see him on campus every now and again and we'd politely claim that we would get together and jam soon but neither of us bothered to get the other's number. I played in my own band through school and after I graduated I got tired of being the frontman and just wanted to play guitar. I was on the SMU campus to go see their ESPN televised Halloween game and as I walked to the game I saw a giant bannana and a giant purple gorilla walking towards me (Halloween). As I was about to pass the purple gorilla, the gorilla dropped to his knees and started trying to grab my junk. I started yelling at him and pulled my fist back to punch the gorilla and then the gorilla pulled his mask off and it was John, "Hey remember me?" He had just broken up his old band that he played bass in and was looking to start a new one and they needed a guitar player. I meet up with this new group and it's just not working. The lead guitar player spent over an hour every practice tuning and trying to find the right "tone" on his amp.